National Football Foundation honors local athletes

Staff Report

There are 44 senior football players that were recently selected as scholar athletes in the Toledo Wistert Chapter of the National Football Foundation. In the county, five players made the list.

Receiving this honor were Gunnar Oakes, Aaron Hazlett, and Zach Dziengelewski of Swanton, as well as Chase Reynolds and Jacob Raabe of Wauseon.

These athletes and their peers have been invited to a banquet at the Seagate Centre in Toledo on March 6 beginning at 6 p.m.

Along with honoring these young men, some 15 area coaches will be honored and $20,000 in scholarships will be given out as well.

The featured speaker for the event is Pat Fitzgerald, head football coach at Northwestern University.

Staff Report