Cage Classic set for April 8

Senior high school all-stars will be squaring off in the 33rd annual Four County All-Star Cage Classic on Friday, April 8 at Bryan High School.

The doors open at 6 p.m. with the girls’ game beginning at 7 p.m.

The battle is between the East team with senior all-star basketball players from Fulton and Henry County, against the West team from Defiance and Williams County. All 23 high schools in the four counties participate in the event.

The East boys lead the series 21-11, with the West boys winning last year’s game 111-103. The East girls also lead the series 17-15, with the East girls winning last year’s game 80-50.

Tickets are now on sale at all 23 high schools participating. Tickets will also be available at the gate.

The biggest winner at the All-Star Cage Classic is Special Olympics. During the past 32 years, $176,590 has been donated to the Special Olympic programs in the four counties participating.

All officials, timekeepers, scorers, ticket takers, announcers and coaches donate the evening to Special Olympics. All proceeds are divided evenly among the four counties participating.

A Special Olympic basketball game is held during halftime of the boys’ game. Each year the Special Olympians receive a standing ovation from an appreciative audience. A 3-point contest for the Special Olympians is held at halftime of the girls’ game.

A high school slam dunk contest and 3-point shoot-off is held between the boys and girls games.

Representing the county on the boys side are Mike Weigand of Archbold, Evan Vasquez of Delta, Nick Etue of Evergreen, Jerad Seiler and Alec Bost of Fayette, Stuart Yoder of Pettisville, Bryce McComb of Swanton, and Luke Rychener and Chase Brock of Wauseon.

County girls who are participating include Cassi Wyse of Archbold, Jenni Davis and Jessi Davis of Delta, Eden Eisel and Rachael Noe of Evergreen, Taylor Griffiths and Kaela Seiler of Fayette, Andrea Aeschliman of Pettisville, Kyleigh Ramlow of Swanton and Anna Marshall of Wauseon.

Coaching the East team for the boys is Jerry Keifer of Evergreen High School and coaching the West team is Taylor Muehlfeld of Montpelier High School. Girls all-star team coaches are John Gallehue of Edon High School for the West and John Langenderfer of Evergreen High School for the East.

The Bryan Times has been the sponsor of the event since its inception.