Pettisville captures tournament golf title

Montpelier first in final standings

Staff Report

Pettisville finished 16 strokes ahead of Montpelier to win the Buckeye Border Conference Golf Championships Thursday at Ironwood.

The Blackbirds collectively shot a 338, while the Locomotives were second at 354.

Taking the tournament into account, Montpelier won the BBC title outright. Pettisville and Fayette were runners-up.

Tommy McWatters was a co-medalist for Pettisville, shooting a 75. Chace Boothman of North Central was the other medalist.

Max Leppelmeier of Pettisville tied for third with a 76, Josh Horning (15th) shot a 92, and Jake King (17th) a 95. Caleb Nafziger and Austin Horning tied for 18th at 96.

Fayette’s Noah Brinegar tied for third with Leppelmeier, also carding a 76. Tanner Lemley took ninth with an 88 for the Eagles, and Owen Lemley and Tanner Wagner were in a four-way tie for 18th with a 96. Brett Merillat (T-24th) shot a 98 and Noah Bingman (T-28th) 101.

Fayette and Pettisville are back at Ironwood Thursday for the Division III sectional tournament.

BBC Golf Championships

Team scores

1. Pettisville 338 (Max Leppelmeier 76, Tommy McWatters 75, Caleb Nafziger 96, Austin Horning 96, Josh Horning 92, Jake King 95); 2. Montpelier 354; 3. Fayette 356; 4. No. Central 357; 5. Stryker 377; 6. Hilltop 399; 7. Edon 472.

Individuals (top 10)

1. Chace Boothman (No. Central) 75, Tommy McWatters (Pettisville) 75; 3. Max Leppelmeier (Pettisville) 76, Noah Brinegar (Fayette) 76; 5. Spencer Clingaman (Stryker) 78; 6. Skyler Butterfield (Hilltop) 84; 7. Ethan Marihugh (Montpelier) 87, Tyler Rupp (Montpelier) 87; 9. Tanner Lemley (Fayette) 88; 10. Logan Boetz (Stryker) 89.

Montpelier first in final standings

Staff Report