Wauseon BOE presents new teachers

Nine new teachers in the school district were introduced Monday during a Wauseon Board of Education meeting.

They are: Kristin Sayers, third grade Title I; Tiffany Anderson, fourth grade reading and English Language Arts, first year of teaching; Hannah Dymarkowski, fourth grade reading and English Language Arts, six years of teaching; Mallory Carroll, middle school art, nine years of teaching; Paige Triana, seventh and eighth grade math, two years of teaching; Christian Crew, seventh grade social studies; Brenda Wagner, high school business, 16 years of teaching; James Vaughn, high school vocal ensemble advisor, 16 years of teaching; and Casey Smith, high school intervention specialist, long-term substitute experience.

“We’re pleased to have a wonderful contingent of new staff members,” Superintendent Larry Brown said. “(They) represent the district well, and I’m sure they’re going to do a fine job in our classrooms.”

In other business, the school board approved the following resignations and appointments:

• Resignations of Bobbie Simpkins as WEVS speech language pathologist effective July 31, of Sue Simmons as WHS intervention specialist effective July 31, and of Liza Kuzmaul as substitute bus driver effective July 21;

• One-year limited certificated contract to Kristin Sayers, WES Title 1 teacher;

• Reassignments of Kayla Simon from WES Title 1 teacher to third grade teacher, Trina Fry from WMS two-hour cook to three-hour cook, and Diane Bruner from WHS three-hour cook to 5.5-hour cook;

• Long-term substitutes Christian Crew in seventh grade social studies, Casey Smith as WHS intervention specialist, Stephanie Tyson as speech language pathologist, and Susan Restivo as speech language specialist, all at $194.96 per day;

• Title I part-time tutors Amy Miller and Deana Beck at $25 per hour;

• One-year limited classified contracts to Brandi Freestone as WPS two-hour cook and Ashley Hartman as WMS two-hour cook;

• Transfers of Cindy Henson from WPS two-hour cook to WMS three-hour cook, and Lisa Kudlica from WMS two-hour cook to WPS two-hour cook;

• Kevin Bechtel as full-time bus driver;

• One-year limited certificated, non-athletic supplemental contract to James Vaughn as vocal ensemble advisor;

• Dave Storrer as volunteer golf coach;

• Student pool workers McKenzie Darnell, Sydney Darnell, Justin Freestone, Avery Giguere; Kayla Heising, Carter Hite, Marin Miller, Bailey McGuire, Kennedy Nation, Elena Pratt, Maggie Roelfsema, Alyssa Russell, Ryan Scherer, Austin Schuette, and McCormick Warncke.

The board also accepted the following donations: $150 from Wauseon Machine and Manufacturing Plant 1 to the WHS Speech team; bus parts valued at $4,277.80 from E&H Clinic Inc. to the WEVS Transportation Dept.; a bottle of athletic equipment odor and stain eater valued at $150 from The Sports Place at Ace Hardware to the WEVS Athletic Dept.; and $100 from Dave Gerken and $100 from Continental Plaza Inc. to the WEVS toward Chromebook Insurance Protection Fund payments.

The school board approved the following motions: a second reading to revise NEOLA Policy No. 2464, Gifted Education and Identification; all 2017-18 bus routes as presented, using automated software, with authorization by the superintendent or designee to change as needed; appointment of board member Larry Fruth as district delegate to the Ohio School Boards Capital Conference, and board member Stacia Radabaugh as alternate.

In building reports:

• Primary School Principal Blake Young reported that K-5 students will continue using Renaissance Learning’s STAR Reading and Math online assessment. He said all kindergarten students will be given the Kindergarten Readiness Assessment before Nov. 1.

He also reported that the Junior Achievement program will continue throughout the school.

• Elementary School Principal Theresa Vietmeier said the United Way grant for both the primary and elementary schools will continue through the fall. The grant allows for the after school program.

She praised the high school football team members for donating more than 1,600 items to the elementary school’s food pantry. “That’s the nice thing about being in this community. It’s just nice to see the giving aspect,” Vietmeier said.

And she encouraged board members to view glass mosaics created by middle school students that have been installed in the library. “It is absolutely beautiful. It just makes the library pop,” she said.

• The Middle School has been awarded a five-year 21st Century grant totaling $744,000. Principal Joe Friess said, the previous grant expired last year, and they are rarely renewed. “It has had a positive impact on our kids,” he added.

He said changes in the school’s technology department include an updated electronic gradebook, new filters, and a new management system.

• High School Principal Keith Leatherman reported that 25 students attended summer school at Four County Career Center, earning 45 one-half credits.

He said end-of-course retake tests were completed July 18-20 by nine students. Results will be available Sept. 11; the next retake session is Dec. 4-Jan. 12.

Leatherman also discussed additional graduation options being offered only to the Class of 2018. They include passing curriculum requirements and meeting as least two of several requirement options offered.

Board members entered into executive session to discuss employment of personnel. No action was taken.

.neFileBlock {
margin-bottom: 20px;
.neFileBlock p {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
.neFileBlock .neFile {
border-bottom: 1px dotted #aaa;
padding-bottom: 5px;
padding-top: 10px;
.neFileBlock .neCaption {
font-size: 85%;

New teachers in the Wauseon school district for the 2017-18 year are – front, from left – Kristin Sayers, Tiffany Anderson, Paige Triana, Mallory Carroll, Brenda Wagner – back, from left – James Vaughn, Christian Crew, Hannah Dymarkowski, and Casey Smith.
https://www.fcnews.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/45/2017/08/web1_new-teachers.jpgNew teachers in the Wauseon school district for the 2017-18 year are – front, from left – Kristin Sayers, Tiffany Anderson, Paige Triana, Mallory Carroll, Brenda Wagner – back, from left – James Vaughn, Christian Crew, Hannah Dymarkowski, and Casey Smith.

By David J. Coehrs


Reach David J. Coehrs at 419-335-2010.