Five awarded Ives Scholarships

The Ives College Scholarship Fund awarded five $1,000 scholarships in May. This year’s recipients are Aaron Beck, Sarah Becker, Jacob Raabe, Aaron Spieles, and Samantha Stockham. The fund will also disburse $6,000 in commitments on prior, renewable Elizabeth Edgar Dawson music scholarships for the 2017-18 school year.

The Ives College Fund was instituted in 1922 by the Civic League Organization, a group of women who sponsored community parties to raise funds for charity work. The fund was named in honor of Charles J. Ives, a former local businessman who had organized the Ives Brotherhood of Boys, forerunner of the present Boy Scout Organization in Wauseon. It is is oldest scholarship fund in Wauseon and awards scholarships annually.

Donations and memorials are accepted any time. Individuals, organizations, and businesses may contact Gloria Gunn, treasurer, at 567-454-0994 or Pam Baltzy, chairman, at 419-335-1531 to make a donation or for further information.