VFW awards essay winners

The James W. Kahle VFW Post 7574 in Lyons has announced the winners of its “Voice of Democracy” essay competition. The theme was “My Responsibility to America.”

From Evergreen High School, Sydney Fillinger of Metamora took first place, then went on to win first place in the district finals. Alexandra Dovall placed second, and Kyle Peete third.

From Fayette High School, Bradin Ruger took first place; Sara Fields, second place; and Caitlin McIntosh, third place.

Winners of the Patriot’s Pen competition, with the theme “The America I Believe In,” were Trevor Smith of Lyons, first place and first place in the district contest; and Elizabeth Pennington, second place. Both are in junior high at Evergreen Local Schools.