Candidates file to run for village offices

Not yet certified

By Drew Stambaugh - [email protected]

Fulton County municipalities should see their share of contested races in the Nov. 3 general election. The filing deadline has come and gone, and the Board of Elections is to meet Aug. 12 for its regular board meeting, and to certify candidates.

In the City of Wauseon, the candidates have not changed. Mayor Kathy Huner is running unopposed to retain the seat she was appointed to following the resignation of Doug Shaw.

For council, incumbent Shane Chamberlin, incumbent Jeff Stiriz, Scott Stiriz and write-in candidate Rebecca Martinez will square off for three spots.

In Archbold, current councilman Jeff Fryman has filed to run unopposed for mayor. There are three open council seats with four candidates filing to run. Incumbents Kevin Eicher and Kevin Morton will face off against Lisa A. Bumb and Brian J. Huffman.

Delta will likely see a contested race for mayor. Incumbent Dan Miller will face off against current councilman Bob Gilbert for the position if both are certified by the Board of Elections.

For village council, only two candidates have filed to run for three open seats. Arthur J. Thomas and Tony Dawson have filed. Incumbents Marcy LeFevre, Lynn Frank and Joshua Harpring did not file to run for council.

Fayette will also likely have a contested mayor race but uncontested council race. Incumbent Mayor Ruth Marlatt will take on challenger David Borer, a current member of Fayette Village Council.

Incumbent David Wheeler is the only candidate to file for two open seats on council.

It does not appear Lyons will have a contested race this fall. Current mayor Andrea Gleckler is the only one to file to run for the position. Incumbent John Good is the only person to file to run for council, which will have two open seats.

In Metamora, if the candidates are certified, the mayoral race will be contested. Richard O. Sauerlender and councilman Kenneth Wysong will square off.

Incumbents Karon Lane and John Hudik have filed to run for two open village council seats.

The Village of Swanton has a packed race for council. Five candidates have filed to run.Current councilman Craig Rose, former councilman Jeff Pilliod, Michael A. Westmeyer, Dianne Westhoven and Scott Herrick have all filed to run for a pair of open seats.

In the mayoral race, former Swanton police officer Ron Moore has filed to run against incumbent Mayor Ann Roth.

Only the non write-in Wauseon candidates had been certified prior to the Expositor press deadline.

Not yet certified

By Drew Stambaugh

[email protected]

Drew Stambaugh can be reached at 419-335-2010

Drew Stambaugh can be reached at 419-335-2010