Busy Nov. election on tap

Many local seats contested

Staff Report

A busy election is set for November in Fulton County, as many local seats will be up for grabs. Township trustees, school board members and village and city council seats are among those on the line.

Time is running out for potential candidates to get on the ballot. The deadline for candidate petitions is Aug. 5 at 4 p.m.

In Fulton County townships, one trustee position and the township fiscal officer will be voted on. The exceptions are Fulton and Pike townships, where an additional trustee position, with an unexpired term that ends Dec. 31, 2017, will be decided.

In Clinton Township, Larry Neuenschwander has filed to run for trustee. Bernard Wanner filed for for the unexpired term in Fulton Township. Keith Short has filed to appear on the ballot for fiscal officer of German Township.

In Gorham Township, three potential candidates have already filed. Melanie Fruchey and Michael E. Figgins have filed to run for fiscal officer, while Randy Merillat has filed for trustee.

In Pike Township, Carl Buehrer has filed to run for the four-year trustee term, while Jack E. Wagner filed to appear on the ballot for the term that ends Dec. 31, 2017.

In Swancreek Township, Pamela Moore filed to run for reelection as trustee, and Jo Stultz filed for fiscal officer. In York Township, Karen S. Miller has filed to appear on the ballot for fiscal officer.

Some candidates are not waiting until the last minute and have already filed to run.

Seats will also be contested on all Fulton County school districts. There will be two seats voted on in the Archbold, Evergreen, Pettisville, Swanton and Wauseon school districts. Three seats will be decided in Fayette and Pike-Delta-York schools.

The only candidate that has filed to run so far is Larry L. Fruth in the Wauseon Exempted Village Schools district.

Villages in the county will all have at least three seats up for election in November, with mayor’s races contested in all. Archbold and Delta have three council seats up for grabs, while Fayette, Lyons, Metamora, and Swanton have two.

In Delta, Bob Gilbert has filed to run for mayor. In Lyons, John Good filed to run for council. Richard O. Sauerlender has filed to run for mayor of Metamora.

In Wauseon, the mayor’s seat and three council positions will be decided. Kathy Huner has been certified to run for mayor. Shane Chamberlin, Jeff Stiriz and Scott Stiriz have been certified to run for council. Rebecca Martinez has filed to run as a write-in candidate.

Only the four previously mentioned Wauseon candidates have been certified by the board of elections. The others have filed but will need to be certified by the board before they appear on the ballot.

For the educational service center, there will be one seat up for election in odd number districts. Nona Liechty has filed to run.

For more information on county elections, visit the board of elections page on fultoncountyoh.com.

Many local seats contested

Staff Report