Evergreen FFA holds banquet

The Evergreen FFA chapter held its annual year-end banquet April 29 in the Evergreen High School cafeteria.

Following a half-hour social period for FFA members, alumni, and parents, the meeting started at 7 p.m. The 2015-16 officer team overseeing the meeting included Megan Loeffler, president; Olivia Wysong, vice president; Janie Starcher, student advisor; Maggie Carter and Evan Conrad, treasurers; Ashley Garlick and Heidi Fritsch, reporters; Katie Fritsch, historian; and Kaleb Lumbrezer and Conner Sawyers, sentinels.

An opening ceremony was held to kick off the meeting portion of the night. The officers and the activity leaders then presented a brief description of events from the year. They gave recognition to the members involved the activities with a certificate. The activities were soil judging, spring skills, job interview, public speaking, FFA alumni barbecue, basketball, FFA Week, wild game dinner, Trap Team, Leadership Night, Christmas Cheer, Thanksgiving dinners, Pork stand, football field clean-up, national convention, Fulton County Fair, cheer squad, summer potluck, trash pick-up, FFA Camp, AG Awareness, Pedal Pulls, and fruit sales.

Afterward, the chapter handed out the Chapter degrees to Andrew Downard, Garrett Crowell, Destiny Ricker, Katie Fritsch, Dakota Robinson, Brendan Canfield, Ashley Garlick, Courtney Krieger, Noah Malone, Landon Niles, Hannah Pennington, Adam Vandesande, Emily Wheeler, Nick Savage, Conner Sawyers, Kaleb Lumbrezer, Brianna Brisco, Nick Lewandowski, Anthony Boger, Margaret Carter, Hannah Herr, John Machecek, Travis Newcomb, Aaron Pember, Tyler Ruch, Dylan Komisarek, Garret Klauda, and Peyton Pawlaczyk.

The Chapter Degree is the second degree the students can earn by taking Agriculture 2. Each member has to meet certain requirements through the year to be qualified for the degree.

Awards were also handed out to the four-year members of the FFA: Levi Carson, Tyler Coopshaw, Dominic Etue, Megan Loeffler, Tom Smeed, Josh Litten, Lukas Simon, and Alex Laney.

These students have been in an AG class for their four years of high school. This can be a hard goal to reach due to scheduling and other desired classes. Each four-year member was handed cords to wear during their graduation ceremony.

The night drew to a close with the installment of the 2016-17 FFA officer team: Heidi Fritsch, president; Maggie Carter, vice president; Evan Conrad- treasurer; Katie Fritsch, student advisor; Andrea Smithmyer, secretary; Brendan Canfield and Jared Leininger, sentinels; and Ashley Garlick, reporter/

This team will be in service for a year. They are in charge of helping to organize and run events along with the members. They are to be leaders for the chapter.

The Evergreen FFA chapter would like to give thanks to all of the people who came to the banquet. They would also like to thank the many parents, alumni, and groups that supported FFA throughout the year. We would not be the chapter that we are today without the support of our community.

Reported by Ashley Garlick