Pettisville students awarded at science competitions

Staff report

Eight Pettisville students competed Feb. 27 at the Regional Science and Engineering Fair at Northwest State Community College in Archbold.

Excellent ratings were awarded to ​Aaron Rupp​, Matthew Rupp, and Dalton Myers.

Superior ratings were awarded to Kayla Wyse​, ​Joshua Bock ​, ​Jordan Skates ​, ​Gretchen Lee ​, ​and Jacob Dennis.

Winners in the judging categories were: Jordan Skates, first place, HS Animal Science; Joshua Bock, third place; HS Behavioral Science; Aaron Rupp, third place, JH Engineering Materials Science; Kayla Wyse, second place, HS Environmental Science; Jacob Dennis, first place, HS Plant Science; and Gretchen Lee, second place, HS Plant Science.

The following students received Sponsored Awards: Dalton Myers, second place, Kern Computer Application; Kayla Wyse, third place, Bartos Family Award for Sustainability; Aaron Rupp, ASM International Material Science Award; Jordan Skates and Kayla Wyse, Kieffer Ecological Conservation Award; Jacob Dennis, Kieffer Family Creativity Award; Matt Rupp and Josh Bock, James Kieffer Scientific Method Award; Gretchen Lee, Govenor’s Thomas Edison Award for Agriculture and Food Technology; and Jordan Skates, Environmental Pioneer Award.

​Jacob Dennis, Gretchen Lee, and Jordan Skates were selected to present in super judging. All three placed in the top six and received the Paul Oberhaus Super Judging Award.

Jacob Dennis was selected to receive the SUNY/Terra Genius Olympiad nomination, which qualifies him to compete in New York in June. Jordan Skates was selected to receive the ISWEEEP nomination, and will present her project in Houston, Texas, at the end of April. Gretchen Lee was selected as an ISEF Observer, and will travel to Phoenix, Ariz., in May.​

Nine students participated in the Ohio Academy of Science District Science Day on March 5 at the University of Toledo. Students representing Pettisville High School were Kelly Miller, Dalton Myers, Aaron Rupp, and Anneli Shaw, eighth grade; Joshua Brock and Kayla Wyse, ninth grade; Gretchen Lee and Jordan Skates, 10th grade; and Jacob Dennis, 11th grade.

Aaron Rupp received an excellent rating and an honorable mention for the Stranahan Arboretum Environment Science Award.

Joshua Bock, Jacob Dennis, Gretchen Lee, Jordan Skates, Kayla Wyse, Kelly Miller, Dalton Myers, and Anneli Shaw received superior ratings.

Sponsored awards went to: Anneli Shaw, first place for theGovernor’s Thomas Edison Award for Excellence in Student Research, Agriculture and Food Technology; and Jacob Dennis, the Ohio Soybean Bioscience Award.

The students who received superior ratings will advance to compete at the State Science Day on May 14 at The Ohio State University in Columbus.

Staff report