Metamora Council winner randomly selected after tie

By Drew Stambaugh - [email protected]

The race for a fourth and final open spot on Metamora Village Council remained tied following an official count by the Fulton County Board of Elections.

Both Lynda Arquette and John M. Pupos received 53 votes after the Nov. 2 general election results were certified on Nov. 16.

“At that meeting the fourth seat of the Metamora Village Council race was tied between Lynda Arquette and John Pupos,” said Melanie Gilders, Board of Elections Director. “The Board was tasked with breaking the tie vote and randomly drew a name from a bowl, which resulted in John Pupos being declared the winner of the fourth Council seat.”

Catherine Mossing, 85 votes, Cynthia Pawlaczyk 84 and Karen A. Noward 78, won three of four open seats.

In Amboy Township, it appears both incumbents won but the battle for the second spot is close. Incumbent Jeffrey Simon was successful with 280 votes.

Fellow incumbent Richard Raab received 191 votes and, after the results were certified last week, challenger Tony Bolger had 190.

The Board is required to hold an automatic recount for these two races, according to Gilders. That was scheduled to take place Monday morning. “A full hand count of the Amboy/Metamora precinct will be conducted,” she said.

In Delta, Arthur Thomas received 33 write-in votes to win the third spot on Council. Kyle Comers got 23. Also, Michael Tanner and Ashley Todd were re-elected.

By Drew Stambaugh

[email protected]

Reach Drew Stambaugh at 419-335-2010

Reach Drew Stambaugh at 419-335-2010