Zuver, Rupp win GOP races

Staff Report

<p style="text-align: center;">Zuver


There will be a new clerk of courts in Fulton County. Tracy Zuver defeated incumbent Paul E. MacDonald in the Republican primary on Tuesday.

Zuver topped MacDonald 4,654-3,294 or 59-41 percent, according to unofficial results.

Zuver, an Archbold High School graduate, started with the Fulton County Sheriff’s Office 26 years ago, working his way up to his current position of chief deputy.

“Because of my law enforcement background, I have a good working knowledge of the law and how it pertains to the clerk’s office. In all, this valuable knowledge will help me establish professionalism and accuracy in the Clerk of Court’s office,” he said before the election.

No Democrat ran for the position.

Longtime Franklin Township Trustee Jon Rupp was victorious in the Republican primary for Fulton County Commissioner. He totalled 5,546 votes on Tuesday, compared to 2,588 for Loar, a former Metamora mayor.

In November, he will face off against Democrat Jeffrey A. Mazurowski, who ran unopposed in his primary.

Incumbent Bill Rufenacht, a Republican, ran unopposed in the primary for the other commissioner position. There was no Democrat running for the seat.

State and National races

Fulton County helped Governor John Kasich to a victory in the Republican presidential primary on Tuesday. Ohio is a winner-take-all state that netted 66 delegates for Kasich.

Donald Trump was second to Kasich in Ohio and Fulton County and leads overall.

In the county, Kasich received 4,578 votes, Trump 2,944, Ted Cruz 1,680, and Marco Rubio 205.

On the Democratic side, Bernie Sanders won in Fulton County, but it was Hillary Clinton who won the most votes statewide.

Sanders received 1,528 votes and Clinton 1,480 in Fulton County.

In the Republican and Democratic primaries for U.S. Senate, incumbent Rob Portman and former governor Ted Strickland won their respective races and will square off in November.

In the only contested general assembly race in the county, Derek Merrin, former Waterville mayor, won the Republican primary in the 47th house district over Vicki L. Donovan-Lyle and Kevin G. Haddad. He will face Democrat Michael Sarantou in November.

Merrin received 45.5 percent of the vote compared to 29.9 percent for Donovan-Lyle and 24.5 percent for Haddad.


All four renewal levies up for a vote in Fulton County were approved on Tuesday, including a pair of school issues.

Wauseon Exempted Village School District voters approved a five-year, 4.2-mill renewal levy. It raises $835,000 per year.

Originally passed in 1991 as an 8.2-mill levy, the revenue is not new tax money, and has not increased, Superintendent Larry Brown said. The levy has successfully been supported by the community every five years, he added.

Voters gave approval by a 1,819-1,089 margin on Tuesday, according to unofficial results.

Archbold Local Schools voters approved a five-year, 4.98-mill renewal levy. The levy will continue to raise the $1.1 million annually in revenue it has brought in since first passed in 2006.

Voters easily approved the levy as it passed by a margin of 1,423-532 in Fulton County.

In German Township, voters said yes to a five-year, 0.6-mill fire levy renewal. It was approved 1,636-409.

Clinton Township voters renewed a five-year, 0.3-mill levy for operating expenses. It passed 1,673-963.

There were 194 provisional ballots cast in Fulton County. They will be counted on April 4.






Staff Report