Local scholarships awarded

The Ives College Scholarship Fund grants scholarships annually to Wauseon High School graduates. The Ives College Fund scholarships were awarded this year to Lindsay Fager, Brooke Hardy, Joshua Kauffman, Samuel Richer, Zac Robinson, Jesse Sanders and Cole Stiriz. These are $1,000 non-renewable scholarships.

This year, the Elizabeth Edgar Dawson Music Scholarship, an Ives College Fund scholarship for students majoring in music, was awarded to Bailey Hardy. It is a $2,000 scholarship and is renewable for three years. The fund will also pay out $4,000 in commitments on prior renewable scholarships for the 2015-16 college year.

The Ives College Fund was instituted in 1922 by the Civic League Organization, a group of women who sponsored community parties to raise funds for charity work. The fund was named in honor of Charles J. Ives, a former local businessman, who had organized the Ives Brotherhood of Boys, forerunner of the present Boy Scout Organization in Wauseon.

Originally, loans were given out and repaid without interest. In 1999, due to Miss Edgar’s generous bequest, the fund switched to giving scholarships. They are awarded at the annual awards night at Wauseon High School.

Donations and memorials are accepted at any time. Individuals, organizations and businesses may contact Gloria Gunn, Treasurer, at 567-454-0994 or Pam Baltzy, Chairman, at 419-335-1531 for further information.