Hoops, Merrin retain Ohio House seats

By Drew Stambaugh - [email protected]

Jim Hoops

Derek Merrin

Republicans did well in area General Assembly races Tuesday.

In District 47, Derek Merrin retained his seat by defeating Democrat Gary C. Newnham 29,009-20,919. The district covers most of Fulton County.

“I’m so honored for the opportunity to represent Lucas and Fulton counties for 2 more years,” Merrin said on Twitter.

Merrin received 71.8 percent of the vote in Fulton County.

The southeast portion of Fulton County is covered by District 81. Republican James M. Hoops will stay in office after topping Democrat Janet Breneman 32,419-10,992.

In State Senate District 1, Republican Robert McColley defeated Democrat Adam Papin 88,540-32,233.

Bob Latta was re-elected to U.S. Congress. The Republican garnered 173,894 votes, compared to 97,352 for Democrat J. Michael Galbraith and 7,184 for Libertarian Don Kissick.

“I am humbled by the citizens of the Fifth District for again giving me the privilege and honor to represent them in the United States House of Representatives,” said Latta. “I represent one of the largest districts in the Ohio delegation, and I’m honored to win in all 14 counties that comprise the district. I take pride in the thousands and thousands of miles I put on my car to meet with constituents in communities across Northwest and West Central Ohio to hear people’s concerns, answer questions, and discuss the issues.”

Running unopposed for Fulton County seats were Republican Jeffrey L. Rupp for county commissioner, Republican Brett J. Kolb for county auditor, and Eric K. Nagel for Western District Court judge.


Jim Hoops
https://www.fcnews.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/45/2018/11/web1_hoops-1-1-.jpgJim Hoops

Derek Merrin
https://www.fcnews.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/45/2018/11/web1_merrin.jpgDerek Merrin

By Drew Stambaugh

[email protected]