Pettisville FFA honored at banquet

Staff report

The Junior and Senior Achievement Award winners were, from left, Jacob Dennis, Gretchen Lee, and Jordan Skates. Larry Burkholder was their sponsor.

Members of the Pettisville FFA chapter were awarded for their accomplishments during the 67th Annual FFA Banquet held April 6.

Among the award winners were:

Sixteen members received the Greenhand Degree, the first degree a FFA member can earn. The Star Greenhand Award was given to Jessie McWatters and Matthew Rupp for their participation in Career Development Events (CDE), and the Agriscience Fair.

Sixteen members were recognized for earning the Chapter FFA Degree. The Star Chapter FFA Award, given to members who have strong SAEs and are active in the FFA chapter, was awarded to Stetson Aeschliman and Kayla Wyse. Wyse has participated in Agriscience Fair and attended the Washington Leadership Conference, and both recipients have participated in several CDEs, as well as attending both state and national conventions. It takes hours of hard work and dedication to meet these requirements.

John and Susan Dennis and Chris and Char Lee were elected as honorary members to the chapter. Both have alumni members, and have supported the chapter over the years including driving students to and from conventions and making donations of both money and time.

Three members completed proficiency applications.

Jacob Dennis did a research proficiency in the category of Plant Systems, which consisted of soybean research. Gretchen Lee completed a proficiency application in Agriscience Research, Integrated Systems, and has conducted research on rabbit manure and more recently on the effectiveness of Oregano at preventing roundworms in llamas. Both Dennis and Lee placed first in the district and are state finalists.

Jordan Skates was the district runner-up in Agriscience Research, Integrated Systems. Her projects consisted of studying different aquatic ecosystems. Jacob Dennis is also a state finalist for Ohio Star in Agriscience, and graduate Chrysta Beck is the Ohio Star American Degree representative in Agriscience and will compete at the national level in July.

Seven sophomores and juniors were awarded chapter proficiency awards and received a $10 gift from alumni: Stetson Aeschliman, Elizabeth Beck, Sarah Beck, Gretchen Lee, Logan Rufenacht, Brandi Schnitkey, and Kayla Wyse. The local proficiency award is meant to encourage advancement to the district and state level.

The following members were recognized for their participation in CDEs: Matt Rupp, Kaitlyn Wiemken, Kayla Wye, Gretchen Lee, Jordan Skates, Jacob Dennis, Lynnsey Crouch, Kendal Pursel, John Rufenacht, Caitlin Beck, Jessie McWatters, Felipe Chavez, Graeme Jacoby, Mauricea Crouch, William Fenton, Zach Morrison, James Eicher, Jacob Steele, Ben Gray, Madeline Wixom, Stetson Aeschliman, Drake McKeever, Dillon King, and Elizabeth Sauder.

Five individuals attended the State Agriscience Fair last May and were recognized for their accomplishments by awards sponsored by Beck Club Lambs. They were: Jacob Dennis, Gretchen Lee, Jordan Skates, Kayla Wyse, and Jessie McWatters.

This year’s top four salespersons for fall sales were Caitlin Beck and Lynnsey Crouch, each with a sale of $3,858, Brandi Schnitkey with a sale of $1,969, and Kendal Pursel with a sale of $1,153. They each received a T-shirt from the chapter.

Zach Morrison was recognized for earning the most points in the Pest Hunt. Lynnsey Crouch, Mauricea Crouch, James Eicher, Gretchen Lee, Brandi Schnitkey, Jordan Skates, Madeline Wixom, KaylaWyse, and Caitlin Beck were given Tractor Supply Company gift cards for good recordkeeping. Jacob Dennis received the overall recordkeeping award sponsored by Nofziger Trucking.

The Scholar Award was given to Elizabeth Sauder, daughter of Dan and Ezzie Sauder. She had the highest overall GPA – 4.0 – out of the junior and senior agriculture students.

The Pettisville FFA Alumni and Friends gave out three $500 scholarships to Pettisville graduates who are attending college and plan to have a career in agriculture. The recipients were Chrysta Beck, Hannah Meller, and Dustin Nofziger. They also gave $500 scholarships to seniors Lynnsey Crouch and Ben Gray to be used to study agriculture or science related topics in college.


The Junior and Senior Achievement Award winners were, from left, Jacob Dennis, Gretchen Lee, and Jordan Skates. Larry Burkholder was their sponsor. Junior and Senior Achievement Award winners were, from left, Jacob Dennis, Gretchen Lee, and Jordan Skates. Larry Burkholder was their sponsor.

Staff report