Black Swamp area employers receive workplace safety awards

Twenty-six Black Swamp area employers were recognized by the Ohio Bureau of Workers’ Compensation (BWC) for their strong workplace safety records. The businesses received BWC’s Special Award for Safety for at least 500,000 hours and six months without an injury resulting in a day or more away from work.

“These employers have not only received a special recognition for an outstanding accomplishment, they more importantly have demonstrated a commitment to sending their workers home safely each night,” said BWC Acting Administrator/CEO Sarah Morrison. “I encourage each Ohio employer to strive for zero workplace injuries by making safety a high priority, which can help prevent claims and lower workers’ compensation costs.”

The awards were presented during the annual awards meeting of the Black Swamp Area Safety Council, one of more than 80 across the state that serve as partners in BWC’s efforts to educate employers and workers about the importance of workplace safety. Safety councils are organized by local business organizations to inform participants of new safety standards and regulations, products and services, and provide a thorough knowledge of topics, including occupational safety and health, workers’ compensation and risk management education.

Black Swamp area employers recognized with the Special Award for Safety include:

A&P Tool Inc., Altenloh Brinck & Co. U.S., Inc., Archbold Container Corp., Arps Dairy, Inc., Con Agra Foods, Cooper Farms Hatchery, Defiance College, Defiance County, Four County Career Center, GT Technologies, Johns Manville Corporation – Plant #2, Johns Manville Corporation – Plant #8, Lafarge North America, Miller Brothers Construction, Ney Oil Company, Oldcastle Precast, Parkview Physicians Group, Potter Inc., Powers and Sons, LLC, Sauder Manufacturing Co., Taylor Made Glass Systems – Ohio, Tri-County Block & Brick, Inc., Village of Archbold, Yanfeng Global Automotive Interiors, Conversion Technologies International, Inc., and Northwestern Ohio Community Action Commission.

In addition to the Special Award for Safety, various local businesses received the Group Award for Safety, the 100% Award or the Achievement Award.

Visit to learn more about joining a safety council.